A Dash of Enlightenment

I’ll give you a heads up, this post is about a Kardashian. I’ve given you an out should you want one, no judgement.

If you are still here, awesome.

I like the Kardashians. I can’t really say why because I don’t know, I just do. I’m a fan but I’m very aware that they’re not everyone’s cup of tea, and I won’t get into a battle about if they’re amazing or not (unless I’m well into a bottle of vino and then I’m on the K train in a big way), and I have no intentions of changing my name to Klaire.  I have a general rule-  no discussing politics, religion, or the Kardashians at dinner parties.

They’re famous for a reason. I don’t claim that they save lives or do anything incredible, but they are entertaining. And at the end of a long day I do really enjoy sitting back and switching of my brain and just watch an episode of Kardashian life.

Screen shot 2017-04-28 at 7.55.23 PM

I do cry like Kim. Messy. 

I like seeing their homes, how they interact and how Khloe can have several jars of exquisitely displayed biscuit jars absolutely uneaten. I can’t have a pack of biscuits in my house or I’ll demolish them or spend hours thinking about demolishing them. Kudos Khloe.

You don’t have to like them. I get it. But the reason I bring this to your attention today is that one Kardashian shared with her audience about how her life has recently been completely turned upside down, and as a result she’s gone through a transformation that many of us would have experienced in some way.

I was pretty pleased when I saw a segment today on Ellen which saw the host interview the best known Kardashian, Kim. You see Kim has had a big change of heart since she was robbed at gunpoint in her apartment in Paris late last year. The segment revealed a changed version of the star, one who understood there was a reason for the robbery and has used it to drive change in her life.

In my post A Warning About Finding Yourself I talked about how a lot of women in this age group tend to go through some significant life changing event that forces them into an enlightened way of looking at how they are living their life, and often provides a great opportunity to make drastic changes  to live a life with more meaning and purpose.

You could have knocked me over with a feather when I heard Kim say that she knew the robbery was meant to happen to her. She knew that it forced her to change for the better, then she said, “I’m so happy that my kids get this me, and that this is who I am raising my kids.”

Oh guuurl, snap!

Yes!

Hands up who’s had that moment? I have two hands up right now. I don’t think Kim’s saying she’s amazing, but she’s relieved that her kids will get a better version of her. I feel like that. I have so much work to do, but had I kept going along without consciously making changes to me, I don’t know where I’d be right now but I don’t think it would be great.

I’ve watched the most recent episodes of The Kardashians, obviously, and the change that Kim goes through is obvious to see. I don’t believe it’s fiction, if it is she’s very convincing and she should definitely pursue an acting career. The robbery paired with her husband’s breakdown is pretty brutal for anyone to go through. But you can see that it’s what she has to go through to get to her new way of thinking about, well, everything.

Like I said in that post, there’s no rules when it comes to living the life you think you are meant to live, one that fills you up with joy right from your soul. In saying that, I think Kim could benefit from adding a “less” to her sentence when claiming she’s no longer materialistic. I think she’s still a little bit materialistic maybe. In her mansion, a bit.

Screen shot 2017-04-28 at 7.41.29 PM

Kim when she was less materialistic 

But in the spirit of being positive, Kim K might just have given us reason to pay attention to what our core feelings really want. Because sometimes if you’re not paying attention to the little hints, you might just end up with a big fat reminder that you are on the wrong track.

Thanks for the reminder Kim K. Like, literally, thank you.

Klaire x

 

 

One thought on “A Dash of Enlightenment

  1. hbsuefred says:

    OK, I’ll admit, I like the K’s, too. Maybe that’s because, for all intents and purposes, you can tell, in some ways, that they didn’t come from money i.e. they didn’t inherit it. I guess that’s why they sometimes look like real people, who maybe just operate on a different plane or on a different level from most of us. They work hard, but, as Kim learned, their conspicuous consumption of the things their money can buy for them does come with some unexpected consequences. Based on my viewing, I’d say the older K’s have generally learned this lesson, but the younger ones still have a long way to go!

    And, wouldn’t it be great if some of the hard lessons Kim has learned from recent experience might be transferred by osmosis to her spouse?

    Like

Leave a Reply

